Bihar election 2020: election of 71 meeting seats within the first part tomorrow, over 1,000 candidates in battle


The vote for phase 1 will take place on October 28th (IE)

Elective phase I in Bihar: The stage is set for the first election phase, in which over two million voters will decide the fate of 1,066 candidates in 71 assembly seats in Bihar. This vote for the first phase is scheduled to start at 7 a.m. on Wednesday. According to the electoral commission, 2.14 million people are entitled to cast their votes. Of these, 1.01 crore are women and 599 are from the third gender community. Of the 1,066 candidates in phase one, 952 are men and 114 are women. The maximum number of candidates (27) is in Gaya Town and the minimum number (5) in Katoria, Banka District.

Out of 71 seats that will vote tomorrow, Nitish Kumar's JDU is contesting 35 seats and the BJP on 29. RJD, led by Tejaswi Yadav, has put its candidates on 42 and its coalition partner Congress is fighting on 20 assembly seats. Chirag Paswan's Lok Janshakti party is fighting in 41 seats, including all 35 contested by the JD (U).

ALSO READ | Bihar election 2020: date, schedule, results – all you need to know

In the first phase six members of the state cabinet Prem Kumar (city of Gaya), Vijay Kumar Sinha (Lakhisarai), Krishnanandan Prasad Verma (Jehanabad), Jaikumar Singh (Dinara), Ram Narayan Mandal (Banka) and Santosh Kumar Nirala (Rajpur) are im Struggle. Of the six ministers, Krishnanandan Prasad Verma, Jaikumar Singh and Santosh Kumar Nirala belong to the JDU, while the rest are from the BJP.

Prominent candidates include Jitan Ram Manjhi, Shreyasi Singh, Pushpam Priya Choudhary, Luv Sinha and Anant Kumar Singh. Former Prime Minister and President of Hindustani Awam Morcha, Jitan Ram Manjhi, is taking office from Imamganj headquarters in Gaya district. This reserved seat, which falls under the Aurangabad Lok Sabha constituency, is expected to see an uphill battle between two independent heavyweights. Manjhi will meet RJD's Uday Narayan Chaudhary, who has represented that seat four times.

Shreyasi Singh, the Commonwealth Games gold medalist, makes her debut as a BJP candidate from Jamui. Chirag Paswan, who represents the headquarters of Jamui Lok Sabha, has assured his party's full support for Shreyasi. The BJP leader challenges RJD's Vijay Prakash Yadav, the sedentary lawmaker whose brother Jaiprakash Narayan Yadav is a former union minister and a close advisor to Lalu Prasad.

Get live stock quotes from BSE, NSE, the US market and the latest in net asset value, portfolio of mutual funds, calculate your tax with the Income Tax Calculator and know the top gainers, top losers and best equity funds in the market. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now in the telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay up to date with the latest news and updates from Biz.


Steven Gregory