Elections in West Bengal 2021 phase 6 live voting: polls are in progress in 43 constituencies, 306 candidates are fighting


The election commission has decided to deploy at least 1,071 central armed forces companies in the sixth phase.

Election phase 6 of the West Bengal assembly live updates: In the sixth phase of the polls in West Bengal, polls are currently taking place, in which the number of COVID-19 cases has increased to a record level. The vote started at 7 a.m. and ends at 6 p.m. The vote will take place in 14,480 polling stations in the 43 assembly segments of the four districts. Via a crore, the voters will decide the fate of 306 candidates from 43 constituencies. Of these 43 seats, the Matua community will play a key role in around 17 constituencies. Both the TMC and the BJP have gone to great lengths to gain the trust of Matuas, who constitute a large part of the population of the planned caste of the state, in most of the 17 congregation segments taking place at this stage in the North 24 Parganas District and in some of them the nine seats in Nadia are voting. Apart from these constituencies, there are nine-seat elections in the Uttar Dinajpur district and eight in Purba Bardhaman.

In view of the violence in the previous phases, security measures have been tightened, in particular the death of five people in Cooch Behar in the fourth phase of the vote on April 10th. The election commission has decided to deploy at least 1,071 central armed forces companies in the US sixth phase to ensure a free and fair vote. The election commission has already shortened the election campaign period and extended the period of silence from 48 hours to 72 hours for the remaining three phases in order to contain the COVID-19 cases in the state. So far, voting has been completed for 180 constituencies. The votes will be counted on May 2nd. Prominent names in the sixth election phase are the national vice president of BJP, Mukul Roy, the TMC ministers Jyotipriyo Mallick, Chandrima Bhattacharya, the CPI (M) chairman Tanmay Bhattacharya, the TMC candidate and film director Raj Chakraborty and the actor-politician Koushani Mukherjee.

Continue reading


Steven Gregory