Elections in West Bengal 2021 The voting in phase 4 ends. Electoral Commission bans political leaders from entering Cooch Behar after violence


By: FE Online |

Updated: April 10, 2021, 9:20:42 pm

West Bengal Election 2021 Phase 4 Live Voting: Due to the violence in Cooch Behar, the Election Commission postponed the vote in a booth based in Sitalkuchi.

West Bengal election 2021 live voting: Up to 373 candidates from 44 constituencies are fighting.

Highlights of election phase 4 in West Bengal: West Bengal recorded a voter turnout of around 76.16 percent on Saturday at 5 p.m., as the constituencies were marked by violence. Five people were killed, including four in the sacking of CISF staff during Saturday’s fourth phase of voting at 44 assembly seats in West Bengal, sparking a political firestorm. Four people were killed when the central forces allegedly opened fire after being attacked by locals who “tried to snap their rifles,” police in the Cooch Behar district of West Bengal said. The electoral commission ordered that the vote be stopped at polling station 126 in Sitalkuchi, where the incident occurred during the election. “There was a scuffle and the locals seized them and tried to grab their rifles, whereupon the central forces opened fire. More details are expected, ”said a police officer. The EC has requested a detailed report on the incident. According to official sources, the preliminary report by the EC Special Observer, Vivek Dubey, revealed that a huge mob of around 350 to 400 people had gathered the central armed forces, whereupon they fired in “self-defense”. The incident sparked violence in the bombing area and prompted central forces to storm with a baton to bring the situation under control. In another incident, an 18-year-old voter, Ananda Barman, was shot dead in front of booth # 85 in Pathantuli, also in Sitalkuchi, after clashes between ruling TMC and BJP activists. Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday asked the electoral commission to take tough action against those responsible for the incident, accusing the ruling TMC of violence during the elections. He also accused Prime Minister Mamata Banerjee of inciting people against the central forces.

Prime Minister Mamata Banerjee called for Interior Minister Amit Shah to resign and for him to respond to the central forces’ dismissal that resulted in the deaths of people “waiting in line to vote”. Banerjee alleged that she had been arresting one such incident all along, saying, “After killing so many people, they (Electoral Commission) say the fire was in self-defense. You should be ashamed of yourself. “” This is a lie … the central forces opened fire on people waiting in line to vote and killed 4 in Sitalkuchi. I had long feared that the forces would act like this. Knowing that the BJP has lost the mandate of the people, they conspire to kill people, ”she said at a rally in North 24 Parganas. The prime minister said she would visit the site of the incident. In the Ganguly Bagan area of ​​Jadavpur constituency, CPI (M) candidate Sujan Chakraborty was reportedly attacked by a “fake voter” who threw her chili powder, officials said. A central police contingent was brought to the site after the incident. Clashes between ISF and TMC workers were reported in Bangor, south of 24 Parganas, after the ruling party allegedly alleged that their election officials were not allowed to enter the booth. In Chanditala in Hooghly, CPI (M) activists fought with TMC supporters in front of a booth.

Continue reading

Live blog

West Bengal election phase 4 live: Election of the West Bengal assembly phase 4 polls live updates, WB election 2021 phase 4 voting percentage live

In another development, Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress political strategist Prashant Kishor responded to the clubhouse’s leaked chat audio allegedly saying that Mamata Banerjee and Narendra Modi are equally popular and one is in West Bengal Polarization of a community in favor of there the BJP. “I am glad that BJP takes my clubhouse chat more seriously than the words of its leaders. If you are selectively using part of the conversation, ask them to post a full conversation,” said Kishor after BJP’s co-incharge West Bengal Amit Malviya shared the alleged audio clips on Twitter. “In a public chat about Club House, Mamata Banerjee’s election strategist admits that BJP itself wins in TMC’s internal polls. The vote is for Modi, polarization is a reality, the SCs (27% of the WB population) and Matuas all vote for the BJP! BJP has local staff, “tweeted Malviya. In another tweet, he said, “Another open admission from Mamata Banerjee’s electoral strategist – all the left, Congress and the TMC ecosystem have done in the past 20 years is Muslim appeasement.” The Trinamool Congress, chaired by Mamata Banerjee, wrote to the electoral commission today claiming that BJP thugs are causing a riot in front of several booths in Sitalkuchi, Natalbari, Tufanganj and Dinhata and preventing TMC agents from entering the booth. TMC has asked the EC to take the necessary measures. Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President JP Nadda have urged voters to exercise their suffrage in record numbers. Prominent faces going to vote in this phase are Babul Supriyo, who with the seated TMC MLA Arup Biswas from Tollygunj, TMC’s general secretary Partha Chatterjee against the film actor Srabanti Chatterjee from the BJP from Behala West, TMC Turncoat Rajib Banerjee from Domjur, Hörner BJP-Ticket and BJP MPs Locket Chatterjee and Nisith Pramanik from Chuchura and Dinhata have blocked. Voting started at 7 a.m. and ends at 6.30 p.m. A total of 1,15,81,022 voters will decide the fate of 373 candidates in constituencies spread across Howrah (Part II), South 24 Parganas (Part III), Hooghly (Part II), Alipurduar and Cooch Behar. Of the 44 constituencies, nine are in Howrah, eleven in South 24 Parganas, five in Alipurduar, nine in Coochbehar and ten in Hooghly.


Steven Gregory