F1 unveils report racing calendar for the 2021 season


23 events listed in the preliminary schedule, with 22 named rounds and a TBC; Australia opens the campaign on March 21st, the British GP on July 18th and the new night race in Saudi Arabia form a double header with Abu Dhabi at the end of the season

Last update: 10/20/2010, 10:29 am

Formula 1 has published a preliminary record calendar for the 2021 season as the sport wants to drive around the globe again.

22 races have been named for the next year, but a 23rd place was also kept open in April in case a replacement for Vietnam was found that was dropped from the planned schedule.

F1 has never completed more than 21 races in one season.

Australia, the sport's traditional season opener, will open the new campaign on March 21st.

As announced last week, a new night race is on the program in the Saudi Arabian city of Jeddah and will form a double header with Abu Dhabi at the end of the season that will end the year on December 5th.

In the meantime, Brazil's popular Interlagos deserves a delay in order to be contractually continued in 2021. A planned new venue in Rio de Janeiro has not yet received government approval to proceed.

The British GP at Silverstone is scheduled for July 18th, avoiding a clash with Wimbledon and Euro 2021.

F1 has had a primarily Europe-based season this year due to the coronavirus pandemic as part of a reduced 17-race campaign ending in December.

Continue …

F1 provisional calendar 2021
March 21 – Australia (Melbourne)
March 28 – Bahrain (Sakhir)
April 11 – China (Shanghai)
April 25 – TBC (TBC)
May 9 – Spain (Barcelona) *
May 23 – Monaco (Monaco)
June 6 – Azerbaijan (Baku)
June 13 – Canada (Montreal)
June 27 – France (Le Castellet)
July 4th – Austria (Spielberg)
July 18 – United Kingdom (Silverstone)
August 1 – Hungary (Budapest)
August 29 – Belgium (Spa)
September 5 – Netherlands (Zandvoort)
September 12 – Italy (Monza)
September 26 – Russia (Sochi)
October 3 – Singapore (Singapore)
October 10 – Japan (Suzuka)
October 24 – USA (Austin)
October 31 – Mexico (Mexico City)
November 14 – Brazil (Sao Paulo) *
November 28 – Saudi Arabia (Jeddah)
December 5 – Abu Dhabi (Abu Dhabi)

* Depending on the contract


Steven Gregory