Nandigram election result 2021: what’s next for Mamata Banerjee? 2 options for joining the West Bengal Assembly


Nandigram 2021 election result: Suvendu Adhikari outwitted West Bengal’s chief minister, Mamata Banerjee, by Nandigram by 1,956 votes.

Nandigramm election result 2021: after several twists and turns and a lot of hullabaloo, the electoral commission declared Suvendu Adhikari the winner yesterday from the Nandigramm headquarters, witnessing an intense competition between Mamata Banerjee and her protégé, who became a rival Adhikari. While some initial media reports indicated that Banerjee defeated Adhikari, there was no confirmation from the electoral commission. After about half an hour there was another report suggesting Adhikari as the winner. While Adhikari thanked the folks at Nandigram on Twitter, the TMC tweeted that the counting wasn’t over and urged people not to speculate. The EC took its time before announcing the result after completing the mandatory VVPAT-EVM vote. It stated that Suvendu Adhikari outwitted West Bengal’s chief minister, Mamata Banerjee, by 1,956 votes. According to the electoral commission, Adhikari received 1,10,764 votes while Banerjee received 1,08,808 votes. Minakshi Mukherjee from CPI (M) came third with 6,267 votes. The TMC had requested a recount, but the returnees declined the request.

Now that the TMC has achieved a landslide majority of 213 seats and its chief candidate Mamata Banerjee herself has lost the election, the Trinamool commander in chief must be re-elected from every other constituency to the West Bengal assembly. Interestingly, Banerjee moved to Nandigram and set up Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay from her traditional constituency, Bhawanipore. Chattopadhyay won from the seat by a margin of 28,719 votes, defeating his closest rival, Rudranil Ghosh of BJP.

Since there is no bi-caramel legislation in West Bengal like there is in Bihar or Uttar Pradesh, the state has no legislative council and Banerjee will have no choice but to contest the gathering’s poll. While any of the chosen TMC MLAs can easily vacate their seat for Banerjee, they have two options ahead of them without sacrificing any of the chosen MLAs.

Notably, there are 294 seats in the West Bengal Assembly and only 292 voted. Vote on two seats – Shamsherganj and Jangipur after the death of the nominees. On the other hand, TMC candidate Kajal Sinha from the Khardaha Assembly constituency, who voted in the sixth phase on April 22, died last week due to COVID. Although he won the election by a 28,140 vote lead when the results were announced yesterday, a poll was required due to his demise. One option available to Banerjee is that she can run from any of these three constituencies.

It is worth recalling that when Mamata Banerjee announced the TMC candidate list, she pointed to the creation of the Legislative Council. Banerjee announced the list from which she excluded several high-profile executives, including those over the age of 80. After the TMC came to power, it would create Vidhan Parishad, or Legislative Council, to include high-level and experienced leaders who were excluded from the list. It can opt for this second option as well, but requires parliamentary approval in order for a Legislative Council to be created or abolished by Parliament under Article 169 of the Indian Constitution if the State Legislative Assembly passes a resolution to that effect by a majority of no less than two thirds of the members. For West Bengal, the two-thirds majority means 196 seats, which will not be a problem for the TMC as it has 213 members in the new assembly.

Get live stock quotes from BSE, NSE, US market and current net asset value, mutual funds portfolio, read the latest IPO news, the best IPOs, calculate your taxes with the Income Tax Calculator, you know the top Gainer, Top Loser and Best Equity Funds in the market. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now in the telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay up to date with the latest news and updates from Biz.


Steven Gregory